Liebster Questions…..Part Two of my very important award.

A short while back, I was nominated for a Liebster Award for best new blogs by my partner in excellent blogness, Karen. Her blog, http://www.kayrayiam.wordpress.com/, is fabulous and thoroughly enjoyable and she had been quite appropriately nominated herself. She bequeathed this honor on me, and there are many rules to follow when accepting such an award. Rules. I suck hard at rules. I will follow them, but usually while muttering about them under my breath. These rules, thankfully, are easy to follow, but multi-faceted. There are steps to take.  I completed the first one, which is a shout-out to the one who nominated me, in my blog (known heretofore as “My Acceptance Speech”).

image

Here is the second step….questions put to me by Karen. As with rules, I hate tests. Tests tend to come in question form. Hence my hesitation. But these? Easy-peasy!

What or who inspired you to write a blog?

Oh, I’ve been attempting this for years now, ever since MySpace. Remember MySpace? Oh come on, admit it! You do!  I used to blog on that and I had a lot of followers!  And then Facebook happened and I lost the password to MySpace, hereby abandoning some REALLY. GOOD. WRITING.  It’s floating out in cyberspace, y’all. Orphan gems of prose. Literary masterpieces. I am such a twit for not saving those blogs elsewhere. I suck. I really do.

How long have you been blogging?

See above. Like….forever, if you count my diaries when I was a kid and my journals when I was a young, frustrated mom. Because aren’t those really like blogs?

What do you do, or did you do in your life as a job?

I have done a lot of things. Seen a lot of shit. I am good at so many things but a master of none. Made pizzas. Answered phones. Made Zippo lighters. Worked in healthcare. Been an executive assistant to a douchebag who made me walk his dog, ship his golf clubs to Florida, and find an elusive watch for his wife’s birthday THE NEXT DAY that wasn’t available anywhere but in some shop in Cleveland. I sent a driver to pick it up. Yay me. Currently, I am embarking on a job at a very large, completely reviled retail store because the pay is better than the nursing home job I accepted two weeks ago. I am a whore for money. I understand and accept this about myself. But money will pay the bills and send me to phlebotomy school and afford me the opportunity to write, which is the REAL endgame here.

How did you come up with the name of your blog?

It’s a song by my favorite band, KISS. And it’s my mantra about everything, because come hell or high water, I am going to survive and become good at life until I die.

What are your hobbies?

Well, I write. I rescue cats. I create art of many kinds. I remodel my old house. I listen to and worship all kinds of music, but principally, hard rock and heavy metal. And I read. Tons.

What is your favorite song ever, and why?

This is impossible to answer. It truly changes constantly. I feel music so deeply. I’m the kind of girl who attaches songs to life, lyrics to moments. You know my type, and you probably avoid her. There is a running soundtrack in my brain all the time. At this moment, everything that Dave Grohl and The Foo Fighters sing is relevant and important to me. I suppose that the first KISS song I ever heard, because KISS saved my life….would have to suffice for the purpose of answering this question. That would be “Detroit Rock City”.

image

Which do you prefer dogs or cats?

Cats. Always. At one time, I had 30 rescues. They’ve since been rehomed. I love dogs, really do, but the cat is my spirit animal.

Where are you originally from and where do you live now?

I am from Bradford, Pennsylvania and except for a few brief forays away….I am still here. And trust me, I’m not pleased.

If you had only 3 wishes what would you wish for?

Financial security for my whole family.
That the world would just become kinder.
To not suffer from Depression.

What is your addiction?(Mines Cheerwine, by the way. No, it’s not alcoholic. It’s a soft drink. It’s a Salisbury thing, you wouldn’t understand.)

Coffee. Really good coffee. Specifically, a Large Tim Horton’s double single.

Who is your favorite blogger and why?

This changes a lot, too. I love to read people. I love to experience life from the perspective of others. Bill Maher blogs extremely well. Jenny Lawson, of course. But right now? I’m loving everyone who is not afraid to be fearless with their words.

image

My third step in this process will be to nominate some new bloggers for the Liebster. This is not as easy as it seems. Because so many of you are FABULOUS. Research must be completed. It is a task that I am happy to take on. Results to follow!

Leave a Reply

